Molly Seidel, Des Linden and others

“],” filter “: {” nextExceptions “:” img, blockquote, div “,” nextContainsExceptions “:” img, blockquote “}}”>

Get access to everything we publish when> “,” name “:” in-content-cta “,” type “:” link “}}”> sign up for Outside +.

The Boston Marathon will run again for the first time in three years on Monday, April 18 (if Omicron completes its crazy onslaught by then). The marathon announced its women’s field for 2022 on Tuesday morning and elite women came to compete: 12 of them ran under 2:23.

Part of the set is Molly Seidel, who did not announce any spring plans. Her bronze medal at the Tokyo Olympics was a fiery salute in the marathon, but her personal record is 2 minutes lower than that of the fastest women.

“It’s very similar to racing in my hometown,” Seidel, 27, told the Boston Globe. “The marathon is just a big part of Boston and the Boston running community. You’re kind of immersed in it. Every runner in Boston says, ‘Oh, you’re running a marathon, oh, you’re running a marathon?’ It gets to where I can finally do it and finally say ‘Yes, I’m running a marathon.’ It’s so exciting. I’m just really pumped. “

Peres Jepchirchir won gold at the Olympics and the New York Marathon last fall, and with a PR of 2:17:16, it doesn’t matter what you watch.

“My big expectation is to be the winner and I would like to arrive at my best on the day of the race,” Jepchirchir said in a statement. “I have plenty of time to prepare and I will do my best to be ready to run against some of the best marathon runners in the world.”

The field also includes Americans Des Linden (2018 Boston Marathon Champion), Sara Hall (second fastest American marathoner at 2:20:32) and Nell Rojas, who just announced yesterday that she is now sponsored by Adidas. Rojas was the fastest American in the Boston season marathon this fall. Stephanie Bruce, who announced earlier this month that 2022 is her last year of competition, and Kellyn Taylor, who finished in the top 10 on the Trials, is also running. There are also four Ethiopian candidates under 2:20: Degitu Azimeraw, Roza Dereje, Zeineba Yimer and Tigist Girma.

Wheelchair Paralympians Susannah Scaroni, Tatyana McFadden and Jenna Fesemyer will also compete in the professional field of wheelchair users, including track record holder Manuel Schär and New York winner Madison de Rozario. Among the international applicants are Shelly Woods (UK), Margriet van den Broek (Netherlands) and Wakako Tsuchida (Japan).

The complete list can be found here. It is the fastest women’s field ever for the Boston Marathon, which in 1972 celebrates 50 years since the founding of the first official women’s field.

“We are delighted to welcome the fastest and most perfect women’s field in the history of the Boston Marathon,” said Tom Grilk, president and CEO of the Boston Athletics Association. “Although there have been many milestones in the five decades since the founding of the Women’s Division in Boston, this field of Olympic and Paralympic medalists, Boston champions and global stars will make it a race you will remember on Patriot Day.”

David Berry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.